Changes to Partial School Closure


School Council

Welcome to the Loreto School Council webpage, written by the students for the students. We make sure that all Loreto students have a voice about what goes on in our school, whether it’s by suggesting a different way of doing things or just raising a query about things that affect the student body. We also help the teachers who run the school, as they get our opinions on any new ideas they are considering. We are also involved in interviews for new teachers.

We meet once a week, every Monday afternoon for about half an hour. Every meeting is minuted, and the minutes are distributed to every form. We also expect our reps to discuss with their forms the issues which are most relevant to them. If we arrange any events for the students, we make sure that posters or notes about these are put into registers.

Sometimes the Council meets as a whole group to discuss points that pupils from each form have raised with their reps. These might include issues relating to the canteen, maintenance, clubs and school uniform. Sometimes we meet as subcommittees. One group organises fund raising events. Another group works on the school website. There is also a group working on whole school inter-form activities, and a group working on promoting sustainable travel.

The School Council reaches decisions on the matters it discusses by holding a votes supervised by the Chairperson. We may vote about whether we think an issue should get any more attention, or what we think we should do next. Sometimes we may vote that one of our reps should arrange to meet with a relevant member of staff to discuss an issue on our behalf.

The school council makes sure that it takes action in response to the decisions it makes. We work as a team in an organised, efficient and prompt manner. We expect each member of the council to play to her own strengths, but everyone must contribute in some way otherwise we won’t achieve as much as we want to.

School Council Representatives are elected once a year. First of all pupils are nominated by their form groups. If they are happy to take on the role, they will explain to their form why they think they should be given this responsibility, then a vote will take place.


The School Council Representatives for 2016-17 are:


13J – Jasmine Ireland (Head Girl)

13S – Alex Fry (Head Boy)


Other Y13 reps

13S – Sarah Mulry

13F – Molly Burgess

13T – Niamh Taylor



12F – Ehi Edogun

12J – Jess Leane

12S – Kate Parker and Sophie Parker

12T – Ann Wangui and Olivia Shanahan



11F – Abigail Keaney

11J – Rebecca Halsey

11S – Jeuel Gutierrez

11T – Kim Mester

11Y – Katie Gettings



10F – Shaneese Brady

10J – Olivia Craig

10S – Amy Phillips

10T – Ellie Kissane

10Y – Chelsea Beauchamp and Soma Ohanwe



9F – Anouska Edu-Chime

9J – Jennifer Wilson

9S – Henriette Hadalin and Julie Andrew

9T – Charlotte Opoku-Gyamfi

9Y – Theresa Zammito and Patricia Usi



8F – Lottie Moulton and Genevieve Barrow

8J – Isabelle Ablett

8S – Mia Balogun

8T – Elizabeth Burridge

8Y – Mia Harris



7F – Denise Eke

7J – Tewo King and Ciara Eldred

7S – Mia Kenny

7T – Niamh Campbell

7Y – Milly Hayes